Latin NCAP latest result: Nissan Murano achieves only two stars for adult occupant protection

In the latest crash test result of the New Car Assessment Programme for Latin America and the Caribbean (Latin NCAP), the Nissan Murano, equipped with 7 airbags and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) as standard in all model ranges, achieved only two stars in adult occupant protection and four stars in child occupant protection.

The Nissan Murano, manufactured in USA, offered good protection in the side impact and side pole impact tests for both adult and child occupants. However, the model showed poor structural performance in the frontal crash test that lead to a low driver protection score. The footwell area ruptured on the driver’s side and movement of the steering column both indicated potential injuries to the driver causing the loss of points.

The ESC performed according to the requirements and it is fitted as standard in all of the vehicle’s range.

Alejandro Furas, Latin NCAP Secretary General said:

“It is surprising that a model with advanced safety technologies and 7 airbags as standard could not offer five star protection for the adult passengers.

The Murano is produced in the USA where safety standards are high. It is shocking that this car can offer good protection in a small overlap crash test and yet a low protection performance in the 40% overlap crash test. We call on Nissan to improve this model in order to reach the five stars by solving the poor structural performance that caused the loss of points”.

María Fernanda Rodríguez, Latin NCAP President said:

“We finish this year with this surprising result. A model sponsored by a manufacturer that due to its equipment was expected to offer five star protection, yet in the test could only achieve two stars for adult occupants. This result makes clear that expensive cars fitted with a range of safety equipment do not necessarily offer five-star protection. Latin NCAP encourages Nissan to improve this car and all their models, and to offer better protection levels to Latin America and the Caribbean consumers.”

With this result, Latin NCAP closes Phase VII with 8 models evaluated over the year and under its new and extended assessment protocol.

About Latin NCAP

The Latin New Car Assessment Programme (Latin NCAP) was launched in 2010 to develop a regional system of independent crashworthiness and safety rating across Latin America and Caribbean (LAC). Latin NCAP replicates similar consumer testing programmes developed over the last thirty years in North America, Europe, Asia and Australia, and which have proved to be very effective in improving the safety of motor vehicles. Since 2010 Latin NCAP has published the results of more than seventy car models in seven test phases.

Latin NCAP acknowledges the support received by the Global New Car Assessment Programme (Global NCAP), International Consumer Research and Testing (ICRT), FIA Foundation, the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and Bloomberg Philanthropies Global Road Safety Initiative.

Latin NCAP is an Associate member of Global NCAP and supports the United Nations Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020 and the Stop the Crash Partnership.

Download release >>

Photo gallery

Video gallery