About us

The New Car Assessment Programme for Latin America and the Caribbean (Latin NCAP) offers to consumers independent and transparent information about the safety levels that car models have in the market.

Latin NCAP tests are based in international renown methodologies, with vehicles awarded with a safety rating between 0 and 5 stars, indicating the protection the cars offer to adult and child occupants Latin NCAP started in 2010 as a joint initiative and in 2014 was established as an association under legal entity framework. Latin NCAP always test the most basic safety version of a car model available in the market.

Latin NCAP aims to:

Provide consumers across the Latin American & Caribbean region with independent and impartial safety assessment of new cars

Encourage manufacturers to improve the safety performance of the vehicles they offer for sale in the Latin American & Caribbean region

Encourage governments across the Latin American & Caribbean region to apply UN vehicle crash test regulations to passenger cars

Latin NCAP active members are:

ASPEC, Automóvil Club Boliviano *, Automóvil Club de Chile *, Automóvil Club de Colombia *, Automóvil Club de Costa Rica *, Automóvil Club del Uruguay *, Centro para la Defensa del Consumidor, CESVI Argentina, CESVI Brasil, CESVI Colombia, CESVI Mexico, Consumidores Argentinos *, El Poder del Consumidor, Federación Iberoamericana de Asociaciones de Víctimas contra la Violencia Vial (FICVI) *, FIA Region IV *, Fundación Gonzalo Rodríguez *, Fundación MAPFRE *, FUNDECOM, International Consumer Research & Testing (ICRT) *, OMDAI, ODECU * y PROTESTE *.

(*) Founding Members

Latin NCAP subscribing members are:

ANCOSEV and Fundação Thiago de Moraes Gonzaga

Latin NCAP Board of Directors:

FAutomóvil Club de Colombia – BOD President
Fundación Gonzalo Rodríguez
CESVI Argentina

Latin NCAP Control Board:

CESVI México
Automóvil Club de Costa Rica

Latin NCAP major sponsors are:

How safe is your car?